Your questions answered here
What conditions qualify for medical marijuana treatment?
Please review the qualifying conditions here.
What if I am not sure if I qualify?
Please contact us for a free consultation by phone.
What are the fees?
The initial visit is $275 for evaluation and registration which includes patient registration with the state and the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd 70 day medication certification (210 days total). Further follow up visits, as requested by the patient, can be made for a fee of $145 per visit. Re-registration for the next 7-month registration period is $205.
For patients already registered who are wishing to transition their care to Dr. Shokat the initial evaluation fee is $275.
Please be aware that the Florida Department of Health charges an additional $75 fee.
There is a 10% discount available for veterans and active duty military service members.
Cancellation policy: No fee for appointments canceled with at least 48 hrs notice. There is a $50 admin fee for appointments canceled with less than 48 hr notice or for no-shows. The admin fee must be paid prior to rescheduling.
Payments must be made in cash. Credit cards, check and other forms of payment are not currently accepted.
Why Med Cannabis Care versus other medical cannabis providers?
Med Cannabis Care is a premier medical cannabis center. We are not trying to compete with other cannabis centers that provide lower-quality care in centers that usually feel uncomfortable, unfriendly, or unsafe. Often, patients feel like they are "herded" through these centers as they focus on a high volume of quick patient encounters to maximize profitability. Dr. Shokat's goal at Med Cannabis Care is to provide his patients with specialized care and a quality experience. The fees are set to ensure this level of quality can be sustained.
How do I schedule a visit?
Please contact us to schedule your visit.
Where is the clinic located?
Please review the address and contact information here.
Do I need a referral?
No. You do not need a referral but a referral is preferred. You must have documentation from your treating physician that supports the diagnosis of a qualifying medical condition.
What documentation is required from my current treating physician?
Recommended documentation includes visit summaries from your treating physician, imaging reports, diagnostic testing results, etc. that demonstrate the diagnosis of a qualifying medical condition.
How often am I seen?
Patients, by law, are registered for a 7 month (210 day) treatment period made up of three 70-day medication certifications. New patients are seen for a new patient evaluation which includes completing the state registry and the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd 70-day medication certifications. Follow-up visits may be scheduled, per patient request, within the 210-day registration period. A re-registration visit is required by law to initiate the next 210-day treatment cycle.
Is there any waiting period?
There is no waiting period following patient registry. However, a Medical Marijuana Use ID card is required to get medical marijuana products from a dispensary. A $75 fee is required by the state to receive this card. Further details can be found here.
What happens during my first visit?
A review of the treatment process can be found here.
Are there any forms I need to bring to my first visit?
In addition to your Florida drivers license or Florida state issued photo ID, you need to bring your completed new patient evaluation form and consents. Please download them here.
Can Dr. Shokat provide other medications or treatments for my medical problems?
No. Dr. Shokat will only provide an evaluation for the purposes of registering and certifying a patient for treatment of a qualifying medical condition with medical marijuana, per Florida law. Dr. Shokat will not provide primary care services. Patients are required to continue treatment with their primary care provider and specialist physicians.
Can I take opiates for chronic pain while being treated with medical marijuana?
Patients with chronic non-cancer pain are expected to avoid chronic opiate treatment in combination with medical marijuana. Patients taking opiates for chronic non-cancer pain, at the time of the new patient evaluation, will be required to wean off of the chronic opiate treatment as they are starting medical marijuana treatment.
Does insurance cover these services or the cost of medical marijuana?
No. There is no insurance coverage for medical marijuana-related services or medication.
Can I qualify if I don't live full-time in Florida?
Possibly, by qualifying as a seasonal resident. A seasonal resident is any person who temporarily resides in FL for a period of at least 31 consecutive days in each calendar year, maintains a temporary residence in this state, returns to the state or jurisdiction of his or her residence at least one time during each calendar year, and is registered to vote or pays income tax in another state or jurisdiction. Seasonal residents may submit a copy of two of the following that show proof of a residential address:
A deed, mortgage, monthly mortgage statement, mortgage payment booklet, or residential rental or lease agreement
One proof of residential address from the seasonal resident’s parent, step-parent, legal guardian, or other person with whom the seasonal resident resides and a statement from the person with whom the seasonal resident resides stating that the seasonal resident does reside with him or her
A utility hookup or work order dated within 60 days before registration in the medical use registry
A utility bill, not more than 2 months old
Mail from a financial institution, including checking, savings, or investment account statements, not more than 2 months old
Mail from a federal, state, county, or municipal government agency, not more than 2 months old
Any other documentation that provides proof of residential address as determined by department rule
Schedule your appointment now.